Friday, March 7, 2008

Eight weeks minus a day

I am not happy today. I feel like I am spinning my wheels and it feels like everyone wants a piece of me. I was supposed to babysit my grandson Brian last evening because his father had to work late. Things did not go the way I envisioned.
She called on her way to borrow money for her rent and I knew this was coming but it still ticked me off. She says that she'll pay me back when she does her taxes. (Don't get me started on that one). I just had spent a lot of money on diapers, clothes and etc. Anyhow, I transfer the money and she gets here and decides she doesn't want to go to work. She wants to hang out with me, which translates to me holding Brian (which I love to do) and her on her Myspace all evening.
Shortly after, her boyfriend calls and they are arguing (as usual) and I find out that he is going to the arena football game (she says it just came up, what crap). So much for working late. I blame myself because I continue to give them money, groceries and etc. Why do they have to work so hard? They've got me.
I try to focus on spending time with Brian (which I love to do) and I take some pictures of his beautiful face and I just love the little guy so damn much! No sewing tonight, sorry June.
Later as she was getting ready to go she says she needs gas, to which I reply you don't have any money, to which she counters, can I borrow 20. I give her my card so she can go to the post gas station and she comes back with a receipt for 49 and change. Inflation? Recession????? I remind her that I am jobless (so I could help more with Brian and packing and such. Then I realize, I HAVEN'T PUT ANY GAS IN MY CAR and I am riding on EMPTY!!!!! ARGH!
Of course, I also remember that she has a vet appointment for Buddy, her dog that my son rescued and she adopted and her dad and I pay for. He has an infection or something in his eyes and my mental calculator goes haywire. My hubby asks later how much do you think that will be to which I concede anywhere between 50-300 bucks. I want to cry. WHY CAN'T SHE SEE HOW RIDICULOUS IT IS FOR HER TO CLAIM THAT SHE LIVES ON HER OWN????????? My fault. How do I break this bad habit?
I know, you're thinking why are you talking about last night and you're still unhappy this morning? Well, tonight is First Friday Art Walk and I was going to take Brad to Virtu to show him a painting that I absolutely love and because I had done such a great job saving and not spending money (until last night) I thought he might love it too and would get it. FAT CHANCE now. My fault again.
A side note about last night, Brad happens to mention that he spoke to his boss and inquired about his orders since we have 8 weeks and need them to do so much before the actual pull pitch part. He then says, "I told him if they don't get here soon, he's going to retire because he's got a friend who has jobs for us (NEWS TO ME) and this is insane." ARGHHHHH And it's raining, freezing, sloppy rain!!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment